top 18 christmas favourites {music + shows}

This is going to be a list type of week on Be True blog!  I love reading articles + blogs that have lists.  So in the spirit of the my most favourite time of the year which is now upon us I thought it would be fitting to have my top list of Christmas music + shows.

When I was growing up my family had many Christmas traditions that I am now passing on to my family.  Egg nog, hors d’oeuvres on Christmas eve, opening gifts in our stockings before any others + my uncle would make it painful for us kids when he would make us open one gift at a time during our large Boxing day family gathering!

One of my fondest memories is listening to Christmas music + watching all the Christmas shows as a family.  When my husband and I got married we brought both of our traditions together and our love for movies + music was one that we were so grateful we both shared.  So, after a nice dusting of snow this weekend and the indoor + outdoor decorating complete the music has been blasting and the shows have started.  Here is what fills our house with Christmas.  They are in no particular order because they are all favourites!

Top {fave} Christmas Albums

1.  Christmas Interpretations – Boyz II Men

2.  Wintersong – Sarah MacLachlan

3.  Christmas – Michael Bublé

4.  Joy: A Holiday Collection – Jewel

5.  The Preacher’s Wife – Whitney Houston

6.  Once upon a Christmas – Kenny Rogers & Dolly Parton (my family favourite, not my husbands!)

7.  Under the Mistletoe – Justin Beiber (we love this album – it’s a family fave now!)

Top Christmas Show {Movies}

1.  Home Alone + Home Alone ~ Lost in New York (our family favourite)

2.  Rudolph, the Red Nosed Reindeer (Arianna’s favourite)

3.  Elf

4.  Christmas Vacation (my all time favourite – gotta love the Griswalds!)

5.  How the Grinch Stole Christmas

6.  Four Christmas (Greg + I watch this and bust up laughing every time!)

7.  A Charlie Brown Christmas

8.  A Miracle on 34th Street (the 1947 version)

9. Frosty the Snowman

10. Polar Express (a Christmas Eve tradition)

11. Love Actually

I would love to hear your Christmas favourites + traditions.  It’s such a magical time of year and I always love to hear how others spend this time.  Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “top 18 christmas favourites {music + shows}

  1. be true Post author

    Traditions, that’s what it’s all about growing up having traditions and making them part of your family. The part of this that we as parents find hard is the children making their own traditions, like staying home on Christmas Day with their own family. We parents, then have to start making our own traditions again. I know this is being selfish on our part but would love to have all home for the holidays, enjoying the wine and rum and eggnog with the adults and playing with our Granddaughters, just being the family that we are. That is not to be and as parents have to except the changes, even though your Father has a hard time with change, as we all know. Time goes on, changes are made, we except them and enjoy what time we do have together, whenever we get together. Love Mom

    Reply
    1. be true Post author

      I agree Mom. And even though we are making our own traditions, we still hold the traditions that we grew up with close to our heart. And if we could, we would all be home together on Christmas day with our family like it was when we were kids. But as you said, we do have to start our own traditions now and enjoy the time that we have together. And yes, Dad is not good with change! And as we get older we realize that it’s about us all coming together for the holidays when we can and enjoy those moments! xo

      Reply
  2. Pingback: There I was, minding my own business…listening to a little Christmas music… | breathelighter

  3. Pingback: 12 days of christmas grateful list {day 1 ~ take in the season + my man} | Be True ~ Shelley Inglis Williams

Comments please!

